Mercer Baggs

Editorial Staff

Mercer Baggs is the managing editor for A graduate from the University of Georgia, he has been covering the sport, writing commentary and features for both on-air and online, since 1996. Baggs is a multiple award winner from the Golf Writers’ Association of America.

ARTICLES BY Mercer Baggs

  • 10/4/00 -- One year ago, Notah Begay captured his second PGA Tour title of the season by defeating Tom Byrum in a playoff at the Michelob Championship. Since then, the two have been traveling down entirely different paths.

  • 10/1/00 --Michael Campbell claimed his third European Tour title of the season without hitting a single shot on Sunday. Campbell won the Linde German Masters when the final round was cancelled due to rain.

  • 10/1/00 -- David Duval didn't make the trip to Pine Mountain, Ga. just to compete. He came to Callaway Gardens Resort to win. And he did just that.

  • 9/30/00 -- Michael Campbell followed his Friday 64 with an equally impressive Saturday 65 to take a one-shot lead over Jose Coceres into the final round of the Linde German Masters.

  • 9/30/00 -- Callaway Gardens may be a resort, but Jeff Maggert's not relaxing. Maggert saw his overnight four-shot lead cut in half on Saturday.

  • 9/29/00 -- For the second straight day, Jeff Maggert blistered Callaway Gardens' front nine. Then he made the turn. The winds changed, and so too did Maggert's movement on the Buick Challenge leaderboard.

  • 9/29/00 -- There are a lot of little demons creeping around Padraig Harrington's head. A win at this week's Linde German Masters would go a long way in exorcizing them.

  • 9/28/00 -- There may be no 'I' in team, but there is a 'me.' Such is relevant to Angel Cabrera and Jose Coceres.

  • 9/28/00 -- Jeff Maggert won more money in a single event last season than he has in 22 starts this year. Not to say Maggert's had a dismal 2000; he's earned five top 10s and nearly $850K in cash.

  • 9/27/00 -- All of Europe's top names are in Cologne, Germany for this week's Linde German Masters. All except Darren Clarke.